• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Anyone run an AFTERMARKET head on an 2010-11 M8 or any 800HO for that matter?

S

samiams2

Nov 14, 2009
MN...stupid poser flatlander
I bought my 2010 m8 used and it came with both the stock head and an RKT head with the domes for 7000ft+.

I had an RKT head on my m7 and LOVED IT. That is the sled I last rode before this one, I have no prev experience w/ the 2010 HO motor. Couple weeks ago I put the stock head on the m8 for some riding back here in MN. I'm leavin for Cooke in just over a week and an trying to decide if I should:

1. Leave stock head on, ride it for a couple days, and then possibly swap it to the RKT head.
PRO's
-See the difference more plainly between stock/RKT head.
-the sled has the 2nd year Cat Care warranty so having the RKT head on COULD be an issue if I had an unrelated prob that SHOULD be covered by the warranty.
-maybe I would be so impressed by the motor, in stock form, I would just wait till next trip to change, giving myself an "free added upgrade" next trip. Mostly psychological but hey, I'm looking at all my options.
CONS
-hassle to change a head mid trip. Either end up payin the Cat dealer($ is tight) or doin it myself(loose riding time)
-end up wishin I woulda had the head on the whole time
-get beat by my buddy who just got his new 2012 XP Etec...not good ;)

Or

2. Just swap the RKT head back on now and ride it the whole trip
PRO's
-no hassle, my own free, warm garage to do the workin. No xtra $ and no ridin time missed.
-most likely way to have most power which would equal most fun and hopefull no gettin showed up by the ETEC!

CON's
-if for some reason I ever had to ride the stock head, I'd be disappointed.