• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Brand Bashing Yamaha Sleds

turbo800

Lifetime Membership
Nov 27, 2007
Northern,UT
Hmm
Given nearly identical engine sizes, I would have thought that 6lbs of boost would be the same total volume of compressed air in both engines.

Granted, I am no turbo expert by any stretch of the imagination, but..
Something ain't right here.

So what you're telling me is that these two engines are NOT running the same boost inside the engine cylinder.???

Suzuki builds a good engine. I really doubt there is much if any inefficient differences. Could be wrong...

Essentially yes, an engine is nothing more than an air pump. Air in.....Air Out

A big turbo can move X amount of CFM at a lower pressure, while the little turbo will have to work harder, make more heat, to move the same amount.

The downside to the big turbo is it takes more volume longer to spool up and feels laggy, while the little turbo takes less and will feel snappy and crisp. It's a fine line...

LoudHandle

Lifetime Membership
Apr 21, 2011
Valdez, AK
While I understand where you both are coming from I disagree with the terminology being used, your analogies are flawed as well but we don't need to go into that.

The turbo regardless of size does not pump pressure, it only moves air, it is the resistance to the movement of the air that creates the pressure. So (assuming they are identical displacements, the few CC's difference is negligible anyways) for a given pressure the volume of air the turbo must move is the same for both engines. The Cat's turbo has to move a much larger volume of air to achieve the 14PSI than the Yammi's turbo has to move to get the 6PSI. Regardless of turbo size or design. Just basic physics and applies to everything, not just this.