• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Getting Sled Into Truck - Lift?

S
Feb 19, 2008
S.E. Idaho
I have a quick question for all of you. I am still a poor college student and have to store my sled in storage unit while I continue to rent an apartment. I don't have a trailer, and normally I ride with a couple of guys that are around to help me lift it in, since I don't have a trailer either. But now I am flying solo and need to get a sled into the back of my truck. Does anybody have any ideas on a lift that can be built or other ideas that they have done to get it in the back of a truck. Anyhelp would be great!
P.S. No loading docks around the storage unit, not even dirt banks...just asphalt.

S

Sled365

Mar 14, 2008
The one and Only G-Town,Wy
Two words picnick table!!! There free and every where!!

ha ha saw a guy do that a year or two ago I thought it was hillarious. to top it off he was at a hotel doing it to the picnick table:rolleyes::D
if you dont like that get some fourwheeler ramps. then go and buy some siding or something slick so your skis can co up it and back up to a curb and ride it up. after that to unload it just pick up the front of the sled and push(make sure the brakes off) and it will fall out. peace of cake

Last edited:

wrtmani

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Kalispell, Mt
I use a tri-fold sled/atv ramp with a pair of strips cut from the floor of a pickup bedliner. My ramp is 6 ft long, a bedliner for a compact truck is just perfect. The floor of the one I got was enough to do 2 sets of 6 ft strips. I don't have them attatched to the ramp, I've debated attatching them with screws or zip ties but haven't done it. I didn't pay anything for the bedliner, I got it from the "county shopping mall" (dumpsters) where I take my garbage.