• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Wanted!!! 2009 Polaris RMK 700cfi engine....or any help and ideas to fix the problem

N

Nelson

Nov 30, 2007
Libby, Montana/Elko, Nevada
My buddy keeps burning down his Mag side piston, same failure in 3 rebuilds....Polaris mechanic's are stumped so he just wants to replace the engine. Let me know what you've got.

Thanks

Last edited:
C
Jul 13, 2009
Boise, ID
I have seen this happen. The ecu gets partially burnt from a voltage spike. You can not tell anything is wrong. Replace the ecu and good to go. I have been a polaris tech for 7 years. Easy to do at the dealership. When you run the sled with the track of the ground you should be able to here the popping and detonation. Sometimes you really need to get it up in the Rpms. Replace the ecu and see if it goes away.

N

Nelson

Nov 30, 2007
That's kind of a pricey experiment tho isn't it? Polaris has rebuilt the sled 3 times and each Mag piston has had the same scoring on the Exhaust side when he squeaked it, looks like a lean burn down. Polaris has reflashed the ECU twice, wouldn't if the ECU was partially burnt it not take the reflash? All factory OEM Polaris parts were used in the rebuild, pistons and cylinders mic'd good before install, injectors flow tested good, fuel pressure good, reeds are stock (good), TB boots were brand new. Its weird and he doesn't want to rebuild it just to have it blow up again so he wants to replace, first seeing if there's a used engine for sale before ordering a new crate engine. The only mods to the original is an SLP pipe/can, he runs Polaris Gold oil and non ethanol fuel.

Any thoughts???

C
Jul 13, 2009
Boise, ID