• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

It's bad....

BeartoothBaron

Lifetime Membership
Nov 2, 2017
Roberts, MT
I'll have to see how the Wossners work out for me, but I think I made the best possible choice. Obviously I have no prior experience with them, but a couple guys who know how to build a motor and ride hard recommended them. The OE piston is probably more tolerant of abuse (especially insufficient warm-up), but the Wossner is lighter, and being forged, likely to stand up to detonation better. I haven't heard of locator pin issues with Wossners, but I'm all ears if they have issues too.

I plan to have the crank trued, most likely by Dan. I couldn't find any other potential trouble with the crank, so I'm hoping it just needs a little massaging; a new PTO bearing wouldn't hurt though. It's only slightly out of spec, and the runout is well in spec, so I'm going to run it the rest of the season, but not going to chance it any longer than that. I'm hoping I can just pull the bottom off, pull the crank assembly, and send that in without having to disturb and replace the top end gaskets (again).