• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

MPI or MCX 14+ boost.

S
Jun 9, 2011
Idaho Falls
I'm looking to get the new mountain sled next year and I want a good turbo system with at least 14lbs or more. I can't decided between MPI or MCX. I'm leaning toward a 270 MCX kit. Does anyone have any thoughts? I'm assuming Yamaha next mountain sled will be a viper with a different name and a longer track. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks

sledheadd

Premium Member
Dec 1, 2007
too far from mountains Alberta Canada
I can only speak of the Mcx kit as I have no experience with the MPI.
I have had my MCX 270hp kit since Jan of 08 and it has been totally reliable. Over 4000 miles on it as of now.
Not one hiccup or problem with the kit IF I were to do another one it would most definitely be a Mcx kit !!!

B
Dec 18, 2007
There are definitely strength in numbers. At this point I believe MCX is approaching or surpassed the 5000th snowmobile turbo kit. This allows for a lot of learned lessons and improvements to be made over the years. It is not uncommon to see machines with over 10,000 turbocharged kms that still rip every day. We have an 06 apex in our group with an MCX rear mount approaching 28,000 kms at 290 hp on pump gas. The engine nor turbo system show any signs of wear. There are a lot of great kit manufacturers out there today but none with the track record.

Cheers!
LL

2Huskies

Lifetime Membership
Jul 19, 2009
Rigby, Idaho
Having built my sled from stock to oem turbo and then MPI Stage 1 I love working with the guys there!

Love my turbo and they were able to help me as I built the sled.

Great turbos, great company and great guys!

Last edited by a moderator:

YAMA S

Lifetime Membership
May 16, 2012
W. Wa.
Nothing against MPI, they make a good product but I'd have to go with MCX 110% damn near bullet proof

prototype69

Lifetime Membership
Nov 30, 2007
Belgrade,MT
MCX