• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Custom built tunnel. Budget Nytro build

Thread Rating
5.00 star(s)
Hey guys, this is my first time posting on so we'll see how it goes. Thought I'd share my Nytro project with you.

Background: Im a 26 y/o CNC machinist and I also dabble a bit in fabricating and welding. Last year I traded my Pro RMK for a beat up nytro plus enough cash to make the deal worth it. I really just needed the money because I was getting married in a couple months..

It was originally a short track that had been extended to a 153. The early model skinz seat destroyed the tunnel because the tabs weren't big enough and it caved in. Still a little upset with skinz who stopped returning my emails regarding this!

Any ways, long story short I decided to try to design and build my own tunnel. Took a few pics along the way.

securedownload (22).jpg securedownload (23).jpg securedownload (1).jpg

Heres the design I came up with after countless hours of measuring and redesiging with the help of a drafter I work with.
I was thinking (at the time) that maybe I should have a company name in case I ever wanted to sell one. So i came up with Rider Designs. Doubt i'll ever go down that road tho.

securedownload (3).jpg

My boss is pretty cool and I'm the only machinist at our shop so I pretty much have whatever i need at my disposal. I used a HAAS CNC router for cutting the tunnel out. I wrote a program and used a 2 inch 3m buffing pad to put the polished look on the alum. We also have a CNC accupress here so i could bend up all the parts i made. the tunnel itself is made out of .100 thick alum and that bent pretty well. The tunnel/ bumper supports didnt fare so well tho! My first ones i made out of 1/4" thick 6061 alum that snapped as soon as i tried to bend them. I had to remake them out of 3/16" 5052 sheet alum.

securedownload (13).jpg