• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Jetting Questions!

E
Dec 8, 2008
Chelan area
Not sure what alt each jet is intended for (ex- 2000ft-4000ft), ive NEVER worked with jetting before but want to know what worked for you guys. I usually ride around 2500ft-3000ft, and mountain ride starting at 2500ft up to 8000ft. Im sure theres not a Jet for that wide of alt range, so mabey a Jet for home riding (2-3000ft) and one for mountain riding (5-8000ft?)??? Is it hard to swap Jets? Pretty much anything to do with Jetting im a newbe at. So, any info you have to offer is greatly appreciated. How to, difficulty, time length, what to use, etc... Im in college for the Automotive program and know a thing or two about cars and general engines, but when it comes to snowmobile Jetting and Clutching im still learning. Once again... THANKS!!!

P
Nov 16, 2009
do you still have the altitude compensater on your machine? its the cylinder shaped thing on the airbox with tubes running out to the carbs. if so you are good to 10k ft and don't need to change jetting. I ride the same machine and it works very well. if not then each main jet is good for 2-3k ft per size. in between you adjust your needle clip setting. Keep in mind at a certain point of changing the mains you will need to change the pilots. If you ride alot higher alt you may also need to change slide, the cutout on those is also a jet setting of sorts. It can be confusing, if you don't have the altitude compensater on it i recommend putting one on and jetting to the specs, then you never have to worry about it.

S

Skidoohmx

Nov 26, 2007
Deary, Idaho