• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

m7 backfires when under throttle engine light flashes

Ken Climb

Premium Member
It just started doing this toward the end of my ride today. Anything over 1/4 throttle and the sled does a pulsing hesitation wha wha wha wha thing then if you punch it it starts to backfire. Engine light also comes on when backfiring (flashes when backfiring)

Wierd huh! Its never done this before, and the only thing I've done to it lately was put on a rkt 13.5:1 head. I was hitting some jumps etc, I don't know, maybe knocked some wire loose? I'm new to a/c sleds. Thanks in advance for any suggestions! K.L.

m8magicandmystery

Lifetime Membership
Jan 20, 2008
Yukon
weird...did you add fuel near the end of the day...from a jerry can etc...just wondering if you introduced bad fuel or possibly diesal into your sled somehow...another thing to look at is your sparkplug boots etc..arcing.. grounding..etc..and throttle position sensor needs to be possibly bypassed to see if problem and maybe powervalve cable broken..??..just some quick thoughts and suggestions

D

Dobber1

Nov 26, 2007
Colorado
Check to make sure the throttle cable returns all the way back to the throttle stop position.

mrquick68

Lifetime Membership
Dec 20, 2004
Kirkland, WA
Do you have a can on the sled Ken? If so, switch back to stock. The different back pressure compared to stock kills wacks out the EFI and makes the bog, usually no check engine light though.