• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2006 Apex MTX Boondocker Turbo Questions

S
Jun 22, 2011
Guys,

This is my first real sled and Turbo for that matter and I have some questions regarding setup and etc. It is a 2006 Apex 162 with a Boondocker Turbo with full guages, Team Clutch etc with 3500 miles on sled and 900 miles on turbo and clutch. It was set up for 3000 - 6000 ft elevation with 8-9# boost.

I ride from 7000 - 11000 in the mtns at Cooke City, Beartooths, and Big Horns. What is the process to set up the turbo and not cause damage, I do not want extreme power but want reliability and consistency? I will also need to adjust the clutch so which one do you do first and suggestions would be great as I am new to sleds with lots of dirt bike experience which really does not help in these matters.

Lastly the only major issue that I noticed with the sled is that the steering collum has allot of slack in it which I would guess is a bushing issue and I was wondering how to fix it and suggestions?

philsummers21

Lifetime Membership
Nov 27, 2007
Big Horns, Wyoming
How many # of boost are you wanting to run? For the steering slop get some new bushings from oft racing. I ride in the horns and cooked as well

S
Jun 22, 2011
Phil, I want to learn the sled and not get to radical to begin with. I have not ridden sleds of this caliber ever and it has been 4 years. Therfore I want to keep the boost at 8-9# for now.

I

IdahoPowderHound

Jul 3, 2008
Alpine Wyoming