• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

sway bar. run it or remove it.

W

wje_153

Nov 20, 2008
Montana
I made the switch to a 2012 Polaris RMK 800 this year and this is my first sled with a sway bar i've rode Arctic Cat M sleds since i started riding so I've never had to deal with sway bars. All my buddies who ride Ski-Doo and Dragons have taken they're sway bars off but i'm curious as to what everyone riding the pros are doing with the sway bar. I ride tight technical trees for the most part not much of anything else any input would help thanks.

richracer1

Lifetime Membership
Feb 2, 2011
Idaho Falls, ID
Ride it a few times with it in and then decide. Also, be aware that if you remove it, your shocks won't be set up correctly as they are valved to work with a sway bar. Some will tell you to just increase spring preload, but that just a band aid.

R
Dec 28, 2009
Lynnwood, Wa
I have been running mine. IMO it doesn't need to come off, it works awesome with it. Only reason I would run without one is on an Assault with the wider front end, but they dont come with a sway bar anyway

mountainhorse

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Dec 12, 2005
West Coast
www.laketahoeconcours.com
Here is my take on the subject. (copy/paste from other thread)

MY OPINION>>> there are others that ride without that prefer it... Which is OK too.

This is IMO...

Here are some things that I learned that worked for me and made for less effort riding for my style of riding. I was excited to to learn this and thought I would pass on an experience that made my riding better. There are many better riders out there than me... many of them have a different style all their own that works very well for them.

Keep it. On the Pro... definitely.

Here is an adaptation of a post I put up a while back.