• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

16" track thread again

E

Elkwagn

Dec 18, 2007
Boulder Mt
I know this has been disgused before(putting a 16 on a ZX) but I am curious about putting an XP track on my ZX. It is a 154 so I am wondering if I can put a big wheel kit on and make it work, and also what drivers I would need if I do this. The track is a friends and the price is right if you are wondering why! Thanks for any help and or suggestions to make it a smooth swap! P.S. currently a 151"

S

sledsrock

Nov 26, 2007
Grand Junction, Co.
You'll need 2.86 drivers as your 2.52's will not quite work and a 8.0" big wheel will only soak up about 1.0" of track length. Depends on how much adjustment you may end up with and if you go extro's with some slack it may just work. My .02.

E

Elkwagn

Dec 18, 2007
Boulder Mt
Seeing as how I am new to working on sleds tell me about extro's and a skid set back? Its not that I am not mechanically inclined, I do all my own mechanical work on cars including my racecars, I just dont know much about working on sleds--I have always prefered to ride instead!! But the economy dictates that I must now work on older stuff to be able to ride!

Z

ZX 950

Dec 25, 2009
I have a 01 that came with a 151. did a 4" setback and put a 159 on. then i put a 162 x 16 on with 8" wheels and never moved the skid. have plenty of adjustment. you should be able to get by with 8" wheels with no problem

S
I have a 01 that came with a 151. did a 4" setback and put a 159 on. then i put a 162 x 16 on with 8" wheels and never moved the skid. have plenty of adjustment. you should be able to get by with 8" wheels with no problem

just curious-did you have to run antistabs when you did this or did you ever have an issue with the rails poking thru the the track windows?

D
Dec 19, 2008