• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Tips for shock tuning

CPan

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Nov 6, 2022
Alberta
I just put ZBros exit X1 shocks on my timbersled. I’m new to any sort of shock tuning. Any recommendations on where to start with compression or pre-load settings? What to look for and changes to make on the trail? Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

needpowder

Lifetime Membership
Dec 4, 2007
Utah
Which Timbersled kit do you have and what year? How much do you weigh? Where do you ride? What bike? What have you done to your forks? Are you running aTSS?

CPan

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Nov 6, 2022
Alberta
Which Timbersled kit do you have and what year? How much do you weigh? Where do you ride? What bike? What have you done to your forks? Are you running aTSS?

It’s a ‘16 st120, but I used a 3” 129 conversion on it so I’m using a gen1 aro 129 3” track on it.
2020 CRF450. No TSS. 170lbs. Nothing done to my forks outside of stock. Mostly ride the East Kootenay area.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

needpowder

Lifetime Membership
Dec 4, 2007
Utah
Your shocks are easy but you will need to stiffen up your forks some. Easiest is air pro. Fork springs are another easy option. Best is springs and revalve (in my opinion. I’m the same weight and had .60 in that timbersled kit. I can’t remember the shocks exactly, but the preload( spring) is fairly easy to play with if you have the right tools.

E
Dec 19, 2007