• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Team Secondary 101

Phizzer

Premium Member
Oct 23, 2008
Ketchikan, AK
This is my first time owning a Cat with a set of Team Clutches and I want to get some information from you guys so I have a complete understanding of exactly how I dial these clutches in.

First off, I noticed that my set screw has been rubbing across the wear plate like many of you have also described. A decent amount of rubbing has occurred, yet I have not heard the terrible grinding noise you guys have described. I believe I saw a post where a guy had found a nylon tip that went over the end of this set screw. Is that the fix?

There is a set of of washers that lie in between the two sheaves. I am assuming this is for adjusting the offset correct? The deflection is adjusted with the bolt that screws in and set screw correct?

I am going to give these clutches a good cleaning while I have them out. I have always marked the sheaves so that they go back together as they came. But I read a few threads that claim that each sheave is balanced individually and it is not important which orientation the two sheaves go back together. Is this true? Reason I ask, would I be better to rotate the sheaves so the wear mark on the plate is on the opposite side?

I appreciate all the input fellas. I have always ran a cat and am 100% confident in the clutches from 05+, but these ones are slightly different.

Phizzer

Premium Member
Oct 23, 2008
Ketchikan, AK
6a8931f57896e374a0ce751ab0a75570.jpg
2e915d5e70ff6ab8eca7905d0c0bdff4.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Phizzer

Premium Member
Oct 23, 2008
Ketchikan, AK
Got everything cleaned up and put back together. This clutch setup is so much different but in a positive light.