• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Optimal Spark Plug for Cat (Suzuki) 800

Frostbite

Lifetime Membership
Dec 15, 2007
Eastern Washington
I am going to buy a couple more sets of spark plugs for my Proclimb and M8. I notice on my M8 at some point I switched from BR9EYA over to NGK BR8EIX Iridium plugs. I remember reading at some point that they were less prone to fouling. I hunted both forums (Proclimb and M Series) for a post that would have pointed me that direction and can't find one. I know I have had great luck with BR8EIX plugs but, before I buy some more I thought I would ask what what plugs you guys might be running other than the manual specified BR9EYA plugs?

Also, I saw a post on the M series forum that suggested using Autolite XS4063 Xtreme Sport Iridium Enhanced Spark Plug. The poster "Clutchweight" claims:

"I've been running Autolites for a few years now. The XS 4062 is equivalent to NGK BR9's. They produce 2.5 to 3 HP more than a BR9ES or and EYA. They are hard to read without cutting the thread off and looking for the ring on the porcelain. Many racers use them".

I haven't tried them, has anyone else?

Phizzer

Premium Member
Oct 23, 2008
Ketchikan, AK
I have a hard time believing a HP gain by switching to a different plug without seeing some actual data. A more efficient and clean burn could lead to HP increase I suppose, but there are so many variables. I've never tried the Autolites...Always stuck with the NGK's. Be interesting to see if there was an actual improvement though.

Vern

Lifetime Membership
Jun 14, 2004
hyrum utah
Used the br9eya on m7, rode it for 8 years and probably only changed plugs in it 3-4 times. And those times were just because I figured it was due, never once fouled a plug on it and it was a carb'd sled.

Frostbite

Lifetime Membership
Dec 15, 2007
Eastern Washington