• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

New to me 01 rmk 800 151.

V

villain

Nov 2, 2013
Just picked one up for a decent deal. It's going to be my first sled and is all stock except for a 3" riser and powder sleds. I used to go with my gma back in the late 90s, but haven't gone since. I'm a boat mechanic and feel that I'm able to do all the work needed on my sled, just want to know what should I do before I head out ridding in 3 weeks? What's common on these? I know about the cranks and the water pump belt.

V

villain

Nov 2, 2013
What's the best oil? I work at a boat dealer, is a good synthetic 2 stroke oil good, or is a certain oil better than others in the cold.

Snow Duck

The Great and Mighty SnowDuck
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Aug 27, 2009
Kuna Idaho to Elk City Idaho..
i just bought 01 800 snowcheck roller last night so if you need any parts let me know...i pulled the 800 and put a 7 in the one i have... congrats on the purchase.

V

villain

Nov 2, 2013
It's got 2022 miles on her.

Any brand better than the others?

And how so you tell of its a snow check and what's different?

Scott

Scott Stiegler
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 1, 1998
W Mont
Those are good sleds.

I had one until last year. My dad still has his. 3500 miles on his.

Check crank run-out. rebalance the clutch.

Castrol GTX is reportedly the SAME as the Polaris oil. IT's a good oil.

V

villain

Nov 2, 2013
Snow duck, what color is the skid on the front? This one is yellow. Trying to find a red one.

Scott

Scott Stiegler
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 1, 1998
W Mont
I've got a set of red trialing arms for that.
Brand new take-offs.

V

villain

Nov 2, 2013
Got the trailing arms covered. Unless a tree monster bites mine. Looking to change all of the yellow stuff to red. Think all I have left is the front skid plate.

R
Oct 7, 2009
washington