• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Modernize my 2007 M8 162

C
Jan 14, 2020
I just picked up a 2007 m8 for a buddy that used to ride..... a 2005 m8.

It is a 162 with the loooooong ass boards that run from front to all the way back. It has some aftermarket boards on the front part, what can I/can't I chop off the rear half of the tunnel to skinny it up? I can tig and fab parts and whatnot since I am now realizing no one has parts for this machine anymore.

Basically trying to mod it to look something like skinz airframe boards or just the 2009 162 sno pro. Does it just need a rear set of braces and bumper and I can chop off the sides?

TIA

Elkaholic4life

Twin Peaks
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Dec 19, 2013
Portland, OR
I started riding on an 07 M8. I had a lot of fun on that sled. The steering was so heavy my shoulders hurt at the end of the day. Probably because i sucked. My sled had some aftermarket inserts in the front of the running boards, you cut the stock running boards so the snow would fall out. I have nothing more than that other than I straightened and tiged an aluminum bumper on a Peterbilt today. Good luck :)

C
Jan 14, 2020
I started riding on an 07 M8. I had a lot of fun on that sled. The steering was so heavy my shoulders hurt at the end of the day. Probably because i sucked. My sled had some aftermarket inserts in the front of the running boards, you cut the stock running boards so the snow would fall out. I have nothing more than that other than I straightened and tiged an aluminum bumper on a Peterbilt today. Good luck :)
Yes it has front board inserts like you are describing.

No full length board options? I can make some it will just take time...

Elkaholic4life

Twin Peaks
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Dec 19, 2013
Portland, OR