• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Looking for a little more "umph" out of my dragon

600xc4me

May 21, 2008
La Crete Alberta
Well I did a search, came up with as good as nothing. So I'll start a new topic.
Warranty is up mid next winter, so I am looking at getting a bit more power out of my dragon. Thinking single pipe, head/head work, possibly porting if it can be reliably done on this engine. My question is, what's proven? I have a dynoteck subscription, so I can look at the HP numbers, but I'm looking for some answers from the guys who have lots of miles on their engine mods. SLP pipe seems very popular, is it the best? Bikeman claims more out of their stuff than slp does. But I don't see to many guys going with bikeman? I want a pretty noticeable power gain by the time I'm done, But I need it to be reliable. Turbo or 860 would be awesome but I can't afford that. How many guys are running mod "ish" NA motors in their D8? I want to be able to run on 91/92 octane. Will be running regular gas, mixed with 100LL to get that rating as good premium is not available here.
Talk away guys.

Last edited:

AKSNOWRIDER

Lifetime Membership
Dec 25, 2007
anchorage
Awesome thanks man.

your welcome..how much more are you looking for...my 08 is stock motor w/ slp single, good clutching/gears ..the biggest performance pickup I have seen is from the track/D&R, and clutching....and mine will hold its own with xp's and m's....

AndrettiDog

Lifetime Membership
Dec 23, 2007
Colorado
I did a high compression head with pipe mod and it does work very well. I had some clutching issues that I don't think were related to that mod, but when it runs it really rips! It was a better alternative to twin pipes because of the amount of race fuel that was required. I do run about 6:1 91 to race fuel.