• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Backcountry Traveling 101

Thread Rating
5.00 star(s)
W

Winter Project

Dec 3, 2007
Anchorage / Gwood
www.myspace.com
1st off, my disclaimer: I'm not an avalanche professional. This isn't a comprehensive list of do's and dont's. This thread was intended to inform the people who, for their own reasons, haven't or don't intend on participating in an avalanche class.

A few pointers to consider while riding:

• Beacons - Get one! Either buy or borrow. Even on low risk days, it is IRRESPONSIBLE not to travel with one. Imagine your brother, son, dad, best friend, girlfriend, getting buried, and the overwhelming helpless feeling that will overtake you because you don't have a beacon to help search with(assuming they are wearing one and its turned on). Also keep in mind, you can buy the most expensive beacon in the world, but it won't mean anything if you don't know how to use it. PRACTICE! Alyeska Resort has a FREE practice range. They have a computerized course set up that randomizes fake beacons under the snow so you can practice with your beacon.

• Advisory - If you aren't a professional, take the advice of one. Everyone has money, but that doesn't mean everyone is qualified to be an accountant. Visit Chugach National Forrest Avalanche Information Center Website - this site provides up-to-date avalanche information for many of the popular riding destinations on/near the Kenai Peninsula. This site is updated almost daily by trained professionals. Don't need to be a pro, just need to know how to read!

• Useful Avalanche Facts -
    • 90% of all avalanches happen during a storm or within a 24 hour window after a storm.
    • Avalanche prone areas are generally on slopes of 35-45 degrees, with 38 degrees being the sweet spot.
    • Between 55 and 65 percent of victims buried are killed.