• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Anyone own a BACKCOUNTRY??

christopher

Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 1, 2008
Rigby, Idaho
Just curious.
Anyone here on SnoWest Own and Ride a BACKCOUNTRY?
I am thinking of picking one up as a general purpose all around sled for NON-RIDERS next season.
Something I could take total NEWBS on and introduce them to sledding.

jh7

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Mar 2, 2023
ND/MT
Long time reader, first time poster. I've had 3: a 2014 Renegade Backcountry, a 2021 Backcountry 850, and a 2022 Backcountry X 850. Both 850's with the 1.6" track. Only trail riding we do is to get to the good off-trail areas. They're great sleds. Handle well on trail, and aren't so tippy off trail (perk for new riders). Of course if there's 3' of powder they will struggle, but that means it's a pin and wiggle kind of day! Started mountain riding by renting an 800 Polaris RMK, and then 2 Summit 850 154's before buying the 2014. I have way more fun riding these than I did than any of the bigger sleds, and feel I've become a better rider from being on these. I have a friend that wants to get into sledding, and we're recommending one to him. I should be able to answer any questions you have.

IMG_5621.jpgIMG_4564.jpgIMG_4560.jpg

Blu Du

Premium Member
Feb 19, 2008
Nisswa Mn.
Very popular in the midwest. They don't make sense to me and I would much rather be on a summit even for trail riding. I call it the sled that does everything but nothing worth a ****. I would recommend a summit 146 over a back country for trail riding out west but to be honest if a beginner is going off trail the 165 is the best choice for the floativity imo

P
Mar 14, 2010