• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2011 E-tech cutting out at top WOT

X
Nov 22, 2009
I have a 2011 E-Tech and while riding it today it would act like it was losing fuel temporarily (half second to a second) it wouldn't do it unless it was WOT for 6-10 seconds (side hill) then it would start cutting out worse and worse the longer I kept it pinned. I'm new to the ski doo fuel injection, Any ideas what is going on? Thanks in advance.

travydog

Lifetime Membership
Dec 4, 2007
Tulare south dakota
what kinda fuel you useing? they get finiky if you se ethanal. ormaybey it is getting snow in the fiter if your leaning it over in alot of powder.i have had both these isues with mine.

Skidoox

Lifetime Membership
Sep 4, 2001
Provo, UT
Check the reed valves

Below is a list of areas to help troubleshoot 800 E-tec running issues.

• RPM loss at high speed/RPM- Verify RAVE valve function all 3steps.
• Verify RAVE link nuts for tightness. Many found loose this year.
• Verify RAVE system for pressure /vacuum leaks.
• Verify if RAVE pressure/vacuum hose becomes kinked when warm
• Check Reed petals for fractures or cracks.

Another critical thing on the e-tec is fuel delivery at all rpm

The fuel delivery is greatly influenced by fuel pressure and proper fuel circulation.
Dirty fuel filter, inside and outside of the injector should be checked.
Bad fuel pump, or bad fuel pick up
Pinched o ring inside the injector housing
Faulty pressure regulator (can be quickly swap)
Old fuel from a Jerry can is a bad idea

Spark plug fouled. Engine miss at high RPM.
• Often times caused by use of Octane Boosters or Lead Substitutes.
• Use recommended 91 octane fuel, if not available use 87 octane. The engine will automatically compensate. Do not use any lead substitutes or lead based Octane Boosters.

• Slight RPM loss or drop after sustained high speed driving.