• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

newbie build CR500af

T
Mar 28, 2018
Hello everyone,

Figured i would start a thread on my build and introduce myself. I just picked up a 2004 crf450r with a 1989 CR500. Been wanting to build a snowbike for a couple years. Saw this on CL and figured it was a good enough time to give it a go. Im new to dirtbikes. I have had a couple supermotos and have built a few high end stand up jetskis. This will be a long build and probably wont have a ton of updates untill later in the year as we are selling our house and in the process of moving. Once moved i plan on doing a tear down of the bike and going through it making sure its up to my standard (which it is not at the moment). The guy i bought it from had no information on who build the bike and did the modifications besides he was around the seattle area. Seems to have a few aftermarket parts on it. The guy says the motor was rebuilt and has 49ish hours on it. I dont know if i should do a full tear down on the motor? Would be nice to know what bore its on and if it has any porting work done to it.
I did order a few things
Thermo-Bob 3 for CRF450
1/8TH X 28 BSPP TEMP SENSOR PROBE
Castor 927 anyone running this. I had some left over from my ski.
GN4 4-Stroke Oil to do a oil change and start on a fresh note
BR8EG NGK
Any adcvice on what else i should order would be aprricated
Seems to have hand heaters not sure they work yet
Will be replacing the pipe.
Got a lot still to learn and figure out. Putting a list together of what i want and need.
Been doing a lot of lurking and reading on this over the last week so hopefully i will build it once and build it right.

20130625_192540.jpg 20180329_183423.jpg 20180329_183439.jpg 20180331_123642.jpg 20180331_123700.jpg 20180331_124133.jpg

M
Jan 14, 2004