• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Excessive Belt Travel on Primary

J
Dec 25, 2015
I'm pretty new to the sport, I just bought a 2003 rmk vertical especially escape 800. I was pulling a high speed run in a field and grenaded 2 belts. Took it into my shop and check belt tension, made sure no pieces of belt were in the clutch etc.... crank seal is good.

Lifted the track off the ground and ran the sled observing the clutches(dangerous, I know.. but wore face shield), I noticed the belt would have climbed right out of the primary clutch if I gave anymore throttle. I'm pretty damn sure this is why my belts blew up considering I was running wot.

Also the crank shaft has no play in it, has the huge bearing installed. No noticeable shift in the engine, torque stops seem good. The secondary is a team driven clutch with reverse. Any ideas as to what is going on?:face-icon-small-con

sled_guy

Premium Member
Jul 5, 2001
Riverton, Utah
What belt are you running? Do you know if it has stock clutching/clutches?

If the belt climbs out of the clutch it will break.

You can check the belt movement on the clutches by marking them with a line from inside to outside with a marker and then go ride. After riding you will see where the marker has been rubbed off and that will tell you how far you belt is traveling.

sled_guy

J
Dec 25, 2015
Running stock clutches, I spoke with the guy I bought it from and apparently it has been geared down. So at high speed this can be expected? 080 polaris belts.

Z
Apr 21, 2010
No shouldn't/couldn't be expected. If you say motor is locked in and not moving then the shaft of fixed side of primary clutch must be worn, or something not right in there.. Hmmm? You're not rideing in deep snow right ??

sled_guy

Premium Member
Jul 5, 2001
Riverton, Utah