• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Yeti rear suspension setup

N

Northwestguy

Apr 1, 2010
Panhandle NID
Hey Guys,
I'm new to the Yeti scene. I bought a used 2017 129" SMX with ARO ski and spindle. My question is regarding the rear suspension front arm mounting location. It has 3 vertical mounting hole options. What is the big picture concept of each mounting hole? I ride steep and deep snow off trail mountain terrain, no racing. My intuition says mounting in the highest hole is best for deep snow by flattening the track approach angle (this would also seem to probably increase ski pressure, something I strive to decrease). Conversely by that argument then the lowest hole set would be the best bump/ race option and middle would be the compromise between the two.
I did not find any info on these holes in Yeti's setup brochure or website.
2014 KTM 450XCF Yeti 129smx and ARO ski and spindle, first ride out with this setup was awesome....
Thanks in advance for any input.

chumbilly1

Lifetime Membership
Dec 7, 2007
Try the yeti owners facebook page. I also have tried to research this. I tried upper holes as I was told it would decrease trecnching. It might of a tiny bit, however i still prefered the middle hole. havnt tried the lowest holes. On the yeti the biggest adjustment is strut rod length, and how the track contacts the snow. Most are saying you want the back of track off of shop floor at least a 1/2" when the front is contacting the floor. This will give less ski pressure, lower seat height, and more lively feel.

N

Northwestguy

Apr 1, 2010
Panhandle NID
Chumbilly,