• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Not your Allstar, hardcore, high dollar build, but something different

Kenny B

Lifetime Membership
Nov 11, 2008
Corner Brook, Newfoundland
Hey guy's, I'm new to the snow bike forums, been spending my time in the polaris turbo area.... Anyway, we were in the market for another sled(wife/backup) when a KLX650R bike came up for free across the street. Box of parts really. LOL

The previous owner had already started to update the look of the bike with 2015 KX450 Plastics, so I carried on, got a metal tank from a 08 KLX200(250), something I could cut up and mod easily. I also purchased a AC racing subframe, and air box. So here she is all dressed up.

With the body plastics all mocked up I started in on the track kit, I have the front pretty much taken care of with a Raptor X2 front end I picked up in the classifieds from a SW member. I found a thread a while back with some home built kits that looked great, so we sort of copied those designs. I hope I don't piss anyone off.

Once I had the frame mocked up I moved on to a easy ride type suspension, something I seen in the homebuilt thread, I haven't figured out if track tension is going to be a issue yet, I plan to run avid 9 tooth drivers so hopefully under compression it won't skip.

So which leads me up to last nights work, we made up some templates out of pattern boards, Machined down all the shafts to 13" long and started to mock up the kit. I don't have the sprockets yet to completely mock it up but I plan on 14-17/17-22 gearing. The 650 has a long spread in the gears, so I'm hoping to get a broad power range in 3 gear. I have a JE 10.5:1 piston and the head ported on the big thumper which should help it achieve that.