• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Avalanche Survivor Story

Thread Rating
5.00 star(s)
J
Dec 3, 2007
Ive had many requests since this incident to post this story in detail. The purpose is to inform people of the reality and danger of avalanches. Ok, well where do I begin....I will try to recover more of the factual part of this story and not so much the emotional part which might be a little more difficult because I can remember my thoughts and feelings a lot better than what was actually happening. I am not exagerating anything, if anything I am underestimating the actual events that occured.

Anyways, on Dec. 5th a friend and I went on a quick little night ride in an area very familiar to us, I have been riding there for over 10 years. It is located in the Big Hole mountain range, 15 miles northeast of Idaho Falls, ID. There is nothing real steep and scary, its just a fun area to play around and boondock in. Typically one would not think to wear avalanche beacons in this type of area. There is one hill, however, that is good for climbing and highmarking. It is wide open, about 500 yards vertical, and about 1/3 mile wide. It is known as Death Valley. In the 10 years I have ridden in this area, I have never seen that hill slide. I thought it was safe. I was wrong. We unloaded our sleds around 4:45 p.m. and got to Death Valley around 5:00 p.m. The sun had already set as we began to climb and highmark each other. The snow was about 2 feet deep and had the consistency of snowball snow. We each made several attempts to get to the top. As we took our turns, it was my turn to try to get to the top.