• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

96 Summit 670 Rings frozen

B
Apr 6, 2010
I am a newbie to snomachines but of mechanical mind (I built my harley from scratch)...this is also my first post on your forum...

I just purchased a 96 summit 670 and the motor was frozen up. Machine has 802 miles on it and had not been started for 8 years. The motor was not fogged and it looks like no prep work for storage was performed.

I got her unstuck by putting some oil and wd in the jugs...I hand cranked it for a day without plugs to loosen things up. Primed the jug and put a gallon of 50:1 fuel/oil in the tank. Compression was still at 60psi on the hand starter side - 130psi on the clutch side...not good... Put a new plug on and verified spark...after a few cranks she hit and started but was lugging hard...after about 20 seconds she clanked and stopped hard. Rather than risk a broken crank (which may still have happened) I pulled the head and that piston is smoked and needs replaced.

It appears without measurement that the cylinder wall is scored about .005" deep - obviously need new piston rings and maybe a bore....

I have never worked on 2 cycle motors before...so - I am guessing that I should pull the motor and verify no pieces fell into the bottom end but my real question is can I just hone it out and put a new piston and rings in her and run it? Can I buy .005 over rings? What kind of piston slap is too much with a cast piston?

If I overbore that jug must I do both? Makes sense to do both but how bullet proof are the cranks?

What should I do to the bottom end while I am in there inspecting for pieces? Seals and check the oiler pump? Regrease the end caps?

I need dependable..I don't care so much about power right now. We go in 50 miles into the middle of Alaska and I need to have a machine that is dependable.