• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Pre-Season Gut-Check + Questions for an '11 Ski-Doo Rev XP PTek

S
Mar 29, 2022
Bend, Oregon
I've been backcountry snowmobiling for 2 years and in that time I've noticed an approach to snowmobiles which is buy them, then break them or sell them before they break, and then get a new one. I am an avid DIY automobile mechanic, so that mentality just really doesn't sit well with me. A saying that has always stuck with me is "engines don't just die, they are killed". That is my $0.02 but I am curious to see what other riders here who do their own maintenance or have lots of sled experience think.

I am getting ready to do my pre-season work on my '11 Ski-Doo Rev XP PTek which has ~3,500 miles on it. Lots of that is trail riding for backcountry ski access, and lots of that is powder riding/sidehilling/etc. Not much fully pinned hill climbing.

My questions/check-list:

- Compression is just under 90 PSI on both cylinders, the internet tells me that this is low and that I am due for a top-end rebuild. When I got this sled 2 years ago, it was the same PSI and I took it to a local non-dealer mechanic everyone swears by and he said the compression was totally fine. It rides like a monster still and only very occasionally won't go into reverse but that doesn't happen very often. I am inclined to not do a top-end rebuild as I haven't seen any degredation of pressure over the last 2 seasons and the sled still rips. Am I risking piston slap when running at temp? Any others issues I may be getting myself into?

- I am going to add IsoFlex grease to the crank side bearing which I have seen recommended numerous times as this seems to be the main failure mode for these engines. This is right around the time I should be doing this job and not doing it can be catastrophic.