• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Can't decide.. '10-'11 M8 vs. '11-'12 RMK

MTsled3

Lifetime Membership
Jan 8, 2012
Belgrade, Montana
So here's the deal, I'm finally gonna be able to buy my own "first" sled this spring. I've been riding an '03 RMK 800 that my parents own, since I was a freshman in high school('09-'10 season).

I've decided on a budget of $6000 +/- $500. The 2 sleds in this price range that interest me are the 2010-11 M8 h.o, and the 2011-12 pro rmk 800. I've ridden a few pro rmk's and I love how they ride, I've ridden an m7 that rides decent, and I've ridden the 800h.o. in a 2014 cat, and I loved the power of it. As far as handling and performance, I'd be happy with either sled. My main question is on the reliability.

I know the Polaris engines can be hit-or-miss, but other than the engine there doesn't seem to be a whole lot more to worry about with this sled, and compared to the dragons the reliability seems to be pretty decent. My cousin has had his 08 Dragon since new and it's never had a problem with it, although I know many of them had lots of problems

The problems I've heard with the M8's are mainly with the diamond drive and clutches, but I've also heard of bulkhead cracking on the m-series, I've never known anyone who's owned one though.

I'd like to hear from owners of either or both sleds, how reliable do you think these sleds really are? The internet can blow things way out of proportion, so I'd like to hear from people with first-hand experience with them. I've seen both with 3000+ original miles no problem, and I've seen both with 1000 miles that have had everything go wrong that can go wrong.

Thanks in advance, and on a side note there's a 2013 600 pro-rmk on craigslist right now for $6500 with really low miles, that's another option I'd consider, just not sure if I want to give up power

polaris dude

Lifetime Membership