• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Backcountry vs Freeride?

S
Nov 13, 2016
Hello!

I'm not too experienced with sleds and was wondering which sled would be beter for me- the Skidoo freeride or the Skidoo Backcountry X. Both 2015 800cc models.

Would both sleds would be able to shred through 1-4 feet of powder without having issues/Would I be completely satisfied with either of these sleds?

Which sled would be better for me? I ride in Saskatchewan (CA) backcountry, mostly in 1-3 feet of snow but I live on a lake so I ride quite a bit of ditches/trails/treeriding to get into the hill/powder areas. I would say around 2/5 of trails/ditches/treeriding and 3/5 off trail in snowed meadows with 1-3 feet of powder. I don't jump a ton but I can see the potential as there are amazing jump spots where I live. So what sled would be best for me? Freeride 137, Freeride 147 or the Backcountry X?

If I were to get the Freeride, what track/suspension would be best for me? The 137' R-motion 1.25 lug, the 137' R-motion 2.25 lug or the 146' T-motion 2.25 lug.?

From my knowledge I feel like the freeride is just an all out better sled. Better off trail and better on trail. Not as much comfort though

*I'm also a pretty knew, younger rider. I'm only 16 years old with around a thousand kilometers of riding sleds/atvs

Thanks in advance! Dealers in my small town are terrible and don't have lots of time to research so I figured this would be the best place!

*also what exactly do ice scratchers do and would I need them for any of these models? I was told I do but not sure*

Gsmith2233

Lifetime Membership
Sep 25, 2012
Central Iowa