• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

m1000 piston melted need advice

B

braaaapp

Dec 24, 2015
First off to everyone hello. I'm new to this fourm have been reading lots of good information on here didn't think I would need to post but now I do. I bought a 08 m1000 last late March from a guy up in stillwater mn I'm from Geen bay my crossfire got junked last year and I wanted to upgrade to a m wanna start Goin out west at least twice a year and still ride UP if I'm all over the road I'm sorry. Anyways late last March got it home its stock other that a speedwerks can has 700 miles on it the guy gave me a boondocker with it but said he tried it once and it was better without I took it around the field couple times snow melted season over this year I got it ready so I though changed to a snow stuff can took it couple times around field and then just went to the UP and I made it 10 miles down trail and lost the pto side no compress I mabey have a total of 20 miles on this thing I'll post a pic of piston any thoughts are appreciated did I do something or was it junk when I got it

IMG_2351.jpg

M

mocflats

Jan 21, 2009
Looks like detonation to me I'm petty sure if you change the y pipe can or pipe on the 1000 you have to use some sort of fuel control box or have the ecu flashed

B

braaaapp

Dec 24, 2015
It has stock y and pipe just the aftermarket can I have had a can on my crossfire 700 and zr 900 never owned a 1000 yet so any info is appreciated I have the boondocker just never used on before

B

braaaapp

Dec 24, 2015
Might have had a little in it yet in think it was less than quarter tank

B

braaaapp

Dec 24, 2015