• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Cylinder down, need advice

goforbroke

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Highland, UT
Purchased an 09 IQ 600 last April with 3000 miles and I've had 3 trips on it and I lost compression in a cylinder. pulled off the head and this is what I see.

see attachment
attachment.php

I'm no engine pro and I need some help. I'm assuming burn down on one cylinder as air is entering some where. What do I look for?

I see no scoring on cylinder so am I okay to replace just Piston and rings? Should I do both pistons?

Are these SPI pistons okay to use? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Polaris-200...Parts_Accessories&vxp=mtr&hash=item2a12e01724

eBayISAPI.dll

pistons.jpg

Last edited:

skibreeze

Lifetime Membership
Dec 4, 2005
Colorado Springs
Did it burn down this year after sitting all summer? Could be clogged jets, torn intake, these would be the most common culprits.

goforbroke

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Highland, UT
It is an 09' with EFI, I believe CFI4 engine. it ran about 60 miles this past weekend before going down. Seemed to run awesome and then started to run poor and withing 5 miles felt like on one cylinder.

Vertical Asshauler

Lifetime Membership
Nov 22, 2009
Kelowna, BC
Would be best to do both pistons with a cylinder hone at the same time, that way its not just a patch job. I've had great luck with SPI pistons (installed on dozens of sled). They are cast and will last MUCH longer then wiesco's in this machine.

Here are somethings to check for that can cause a burn down on this machine.

Check throttle body boot for breaks, cracks and if throttle body itself is correctly attached to boot. Make sure exhaust valves are clean and that both the valves and solenoid are functioning correctly. New fuel filter and fresh fuel in tank is a must also.

P
Dec 5, 2009
Hood