• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Hello from the Big Horn Basin!

M
Nov 30, 2012
Howdy, Guys!
I'm new to both snowmobiling and to the website. I'm hoping to learn more about the sport and more specifically, learn about some of the older sleds and what to look for when purchasing one.
I moved to Wyoming a few years ago from Minnesota, something I've wanted to do since I was very young. I rode a few borrowed sleds in Mn, but definately not enough to develop brand preferences!
I spend a lot of time in the Big Horn Mountains in the summer, but I'd really like to get a sled (or two) so I can enjoy it in the winter, too.
I'm a heavy equipment mechanic by trade, so I don't mind getting dirty but I DON'T want to learn about these things sitting on the mountain, 20 miles from the road.
Any advice you guys can offer is MUCH appreciated!

J
Sep 26, 2012
Welcome

Welcome to Wyoming. I have lived here and rode for the past 25+ years. I am currently a mechanic at an major dealership but will not say where. I have spent my years on one brand and been loyal to it, however they all have there positives and there negatives. I don't think you could go wrong with any of them the biggest thing I can say is maintenance is the most important to prolong the life and not have the breakdowns on the mountain. I hope this helps and good rides to come.

hansenmac

Lifetime Membership
Oct 22, 2012
Deering ND
I like to buy things, sleds cars atvs or whatever, that are stock becuase i know when i put mods on things its to ride it hard not to say all modded vehicles are junk or anything but stock ones MIGHT not have been ridden quite so hard.

shelbwyo

Lifetime Membership
Jun 29, 2010
Sheridan, Wyo
Welcome to the site. Do you go to the north or south horns? Might see you up there if you get a sled!

M
Nov 30, 2012