Rocky Mountain Snowmobile Racing Kicks-Off 2014 Season

First stop of the six event circuit in the books, attention now turns to Roost the Butte event

Viewed 1696 time(s)

Boulder, Colo. - Rocky Mountain Snowmobile Racing (RMSR) held it's inaugural race event in Grand Lake, CO, the snowmobile capital of Colorado on Jan. 4-5, 2014. Host Jolstad Motorsports took advantage of the early season snow to build four great race tracks for the event that challenged the riders and provided a great weekend of racing action for spectators.

Anticipation at the track was high for RMSR's debut of hillcross and snodrag races. Snocross and snooval, offered in years past, round out the four-discipline lineup that will be offered at all six RMSR race events this season. All four disciplines offer a wide variety of classes including Juniors, Women, Sport, and Pro. The 2014 race schedule can be viewed at

The attention now turns to the Roost the Butte event to be hosted at Crested Butte Mountain Resort in Crested Butte, CO, on Jan. 18-19. The second of six stops on the RMSR points series, the Roost the Butte event will also be a high altitude practice opportunity for the 2014 Winter X Games in Aspen, CO, at the end of January. Many of the manufacturers will be sending athletes to participate in the Roost the Butte event, including Polaris racer and nine-time Winter X Games medalist Levi LaVallee.

Race Recap

Saturday's action had riders competing in the hillcross and snooval disciplines. Many racers brought out their vintage sleds but it was Tony Cook (Polaris) who was the big winner of the day in multiple snooval vintage classes. Following morning qualifiers, the action wrapped up Saturday afternoon with the hillcross Pro Stock final that saw Arctic Cat racer Taylor Meuwissen take the podium followed by Dylon Moss (Polaris) and AJ Stoffle (Ski-Doo). All three Pro riders also earned an additional purse by wearing avalanche packs provided by RMSR sponsor Tyler's Backcountry Awareness.

Racers brought out their fastest sleds on Sunday for the snodrag competition. Following a great morning of double-elimination racing, Chad Westbrook (Polaris) edged out Steve Penley (Yamaha) in the snodrag Pro Open class. The weekend's racing action culminated with the snocross finals that included a very competitive Junior 10-13 class. In the snocross Pro Lite class, ultimately it was Taylor Meuwissen (Arctic Cat) who took the top spot with Jason Fox (Polaris) and Wes Chapman (Arctic Cat) rounding out the top three.

RMSR is the rebranded, reenergized and expanded XMR, a regional professional snowmobile race circuit collectively coming into the 8th season of winter racing action.

For additional information, visit or contact (720) 771-1949

  • Like what you read?

    Want to know when we have important news, updates or interviews?

  • Join our newsletter today!

    Sign Up

You Might Also Be Interested In...


Send to your friends!