15 Finalists Named In $125,000 "Search For A Champion" Contest

Each to Receive $5,000 Champion Racing Sponsorship, Chance to Win $50,000 Grand Prize Sponsorship Package


Southfield, MI - Fifteen grassroots racers representing several different forms of engine-driven competition have been selected as finalists in the 2013 "Search for a Champion" racing sponsorship contest, which will award $125,000 in sponsorship cash from Federal-Mogul's iconic Champion brand of spark plugs, wiper blades and chemical additives. Each finalist will receive a $5,000 Champion sponsorship and a chance to earn the contest's $50,000 grand prize. Voting for the grand prize sponsorship began Feb. 22 at www.AlwaysaChampion.com.

The finalists-announced this morning at Daytona International Speedway in Florida by NASCAR Sprint Cup driver and Champion spokesperson Kevin Harvick-were selected from more than 160 racers and teams who submitted two-minute video entries to the www.AlwaysaChampion.com website. Over 81,000 votes were cast by racers, fans and members of the Champion community, and final judging was led by Harvick.

"Each of our finalists did an outstanding job of demonstrating their passion for racing and a commitment to take their skills to the next level in 2013," Harvick said. "I'm proud to be associated with this innovative contest because Federal-Mogul and the Champion brand are helping to build the next generation of racing superstars."

The 2013 "Search for a Champion" finalists are:

 Name                                              City/State                                              Vehicle Class/Type

Kolby Araki                                          Clovis, CA.                                              USAC Sprint Car

Cody Correia                                        Lake Elsinore, CA                            Motorcycle/Motocross

Jason Feger                                         Bloomington, IL                                          Dirt Late Model

Molly Helmuth                                      Seattle, WA                                         Super Late Model

Ted Hodgdon                                       Danbury, CT.                                          Junior Outlaw Kart

Jolly Rogers Racing                             Des Moines, WA                                 Jet Sprint Boat

Andy Lieders                                       Colby, WI                                         Snowmobile/Snocross

Tristan Nunez                                       Boca Raton, FL                                        Prototype Lite

D.J. Osborne                                         Lehi, Utah                                             Super Late Model

Bobby Pierce                                        Oakwood, IL                                           Dirt Late Model

Carl Rydquist                                        Redondo Beach, CA                        Time Attack & Drifting

Donnie Steward                                    West Burlington, IA                          Dirt Winged Sprint Car

Tyler Tanner                                         Auburn, WA                                   Straight Rail Late Model

Taylor Toftemark                                 Castle Rock, WA                            Top Alcohol Jr. Dragster

Wes White                                            Pacoima, CA                                      Vintage Motorcycle

Federal-Mogul also announced five "Honorable Mention" winners, each of whom will receive a $500 Visa Gift Card. They are: Alex Cognac, Marvin, N.C.; Sierra Jackson, Middleton, Idaho; Nick Lascuola, Abington, Mass.; Jeremy Lowe, Sarasota, Fla.; and Pittbull Motorsports, Bismarck, N.D.

Anyone can vote for their favorite entrant in the $50,000 grand-prize round of the "Search for a Champion" contest by registering at www.AlwaysaChampion.com. Those who register and vote will automatically be entered into a sweepstakes for 200 free Champion T-shirts as well as posters autographed by Harvick. Voting is open February 22 through March 24, 2013, and Harvick will announce the $50,000 "Champion's champion" at 9 a.m. ET on April 2. 

  • Like what you read?

    Want to know when we have important news, updates or interviews?

  • Join our newsletter today!

    Sign Up

You Might Also Be Interested In...


Send to your friends!

Welcome to Snowest!

Have a discount code on us.

Discount Code: