BRP Ski-Doo X-Team Racers Sweep Challenging Arctic Man Competition

News, Ski-Doo
Viewed 1114 time(s)

Summit Lake, Alaska - Ski-Doo X-Team rider Tyler Aklestad and skier Marco Sullivan won the Arctic Man Skiing competition for the second year in a row this past weekend with a blazing fast 4 minute, 4.8 second run and top speed of 80.6 mph.

Alaska's HooDoo Mountains play host to the annual Arctic Man competition that consists of a skier or snowboarder teamed with a snowmobile rider. There are three parts to the run: a 1.75-mile downhill, a 2.25-mile snowmobile pull and another 1.75-mile downhill run to the finish line. The pairs must work as a team as the snowmobile rider hands off the tow rope to his partner for what can be a blazing fast pull if the team coordinates its run well.

Aklestad also won the (Snow) Board competition with partner Nate Holland, clocking a winning time of 4 minutes, 47.92 seconds and logged a top speed of 75.7 mph. Ski-Doo rider Tyson Johnson backed up Aklestad in both events with his Ski partner Scott Montalbo and Board partner Jayson Hale. Julie Thul pulled Anna Goodman to the win in Women's Ski division with a time of 4 minutes, 14.47 seconds and another impressive top speed of 80 mph.

Aklestad, who hails from Palmer, AK, is a veteran cross-country racer and normally competes in much longer events on his Ski-Doo MX Z X RS snowmobile than the Arctic Man, including the grueling 2,000-mile Iron Dog. Sullivan, who hails from Truckee, CA, is a World Cup downhill skier. Combine Aklestad's terrain racing ability with Sullivan's World Cup skiing experience and you get an event-winning time of 4 minutes, 4.80 seconds and a top speed of 80.6 mph.

  • Like what you read?

    Want to know when we have important news, updates or interviews?

  • Join our newsletter today!

    Sign Up

You Might Also Be Interested In...


Send to your friends!