• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Yeti front ski mount set up pure garbage?

C
Mar 9, 2017
Lethbridge, AB
first ride ever on my yeti kit, I busted the front ski right off. came out of a tiny water crossing riding on my damn fork legs. what a nightmare that was. also ruined my lower fork tubes in the process...

so I ordered a new center blade... apparently an item they sell LOTS of. obvious design flaw. $125 blade later and 2 new $200 clamps and its good as new (which still isnt that tough IMO)

second ride out, first ride on the new center blade.... its broken already!!!! im a beginner rider and rode trail for an hour, and powder for an hour. I looked at it while in the garage and I can see its cracking already. all the timbersled skis ive seen look literally bombproof. WTF?!?!? the parts I broke were nearly $600, not to mention technically needing 2 new lower fork tubes, thats a $1000+ bill right there. not impressed with this at all, neither was the large group I was riding with... sure didnt put out a good name for yeti or snowbikes in general having mine crumble apart like this first ride, AND second ride pretty much.

its the carbon fiber pieces.. mainly that center blade... mainly that hole where the axle goes through. why is it so thin and chintzy?? ive emailed yeti about this... but if its anything like last time, I wont get a reply back for 3 weeks.

when sitting in the snow, bike stopped... I can turn the bars and watch all 3 carbon fiber pieces flex in the ski assembly. its scary. never been a fan of that stuff.