• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Whats a good way to deal with a busted a-arm in the field?

P
Dec 15, 2018
I am a ****e rider snd I keep hitting stuff. Today I really smashed a hidden log bad and broke up my a-arm . It was folded over and busted inside the boot . I've never done it before so I didn't really know what to do to try and ride out. I got lots and lots and lots of practice trying to ride on the good ski and made it to a half mile to truck before it just folded the entire side and I had to do the wrong foot hop thing and it wasn't so fun since I suck at it and it was basicallylike I had one ski. So how do you deal with it? I was super bummed because my shock was fine till I splayed out the whole thing then I ruined it and I think I may have prevented that if I'd have known how. Fyi iam a real new rider so I really can't ride very well and have never broken anything before lol. Lucky I didn't break my body, I flew pretty far and hit harder than I thought I would . Stupid snow is so bad!!

brantd

Lifetime Membership
Jan 31, 2010
carry hockey tape, and zip ties.you can do a lot with that and whats available in the forest,such as tree limbs to brace the broken A arm or simply use a tree limb to act as an A arm!

P
Dec 15, 2018
But...the thing is just flopping around in the wind! What do I zip tie it too?? I tried straps on the ski tips and to the spindles but it was pretty awful and I just kept damaging it more!? I carried straps bailing wire some zip ties and some tape but I guess I just can't conceptualize how to make it "stand up" straight with the ski flat on snow? I'd drag it under r tge sled too when I'd loose my one ski edge. So it was tip to tip and spindle to spindle and spindle to bumper and un rideable lol! Bwahaha I suck!!!

summ8rmk

Most handsome
Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Feb 16, 2008
yakima, wa.