• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

What type of sled do you ride? Why?

J

JSun

Nov 26, 2007
Owatonna, MN
Thinking as I type here... Figured I would post in the MN section because, well, I am from MN and mountain guys won't understand this...

My current snowmobile is a 2012 Pro RMK 155, all stock except for MDS clutch weights and RSI handlebars. Before that I had an 07 Summit XRS 151. I have been riding out west once or twice a year for the last seven years. We ride the Island Park/West Yellowstone area, and I have made one trip to Cooke as well.

My problem is being caused by the snowmobile manufactures. As they continue to come out with better and better mountain sleds, the "fun" factor for me riding anything but off-trail has become significantly less. My Summit XRS was tolerable for ditch banging and trail riding and it did fine out west when comparing to the sleds of that time. Now my Pro, obviously a much better sled off trail, IMO one of the best ever. HOWEVER, I hate riding it in any kind of ditch or trail. Everyone says once you ride out west riding anywhere else is boring, well I disagree. I think I would still have fun in MN ditch banging and trail riding, but my Pro just literally isn't made for that. My snowmobile has literally taken the fun out of riding where I live because it is so PURPOSE-BUILT.

Which brings me to my question, what type of sled(s) do you own and ride? Do you go with a mountain sled and mainly just ride out west? Do you ride a crossover like a SB Assault or XF Highcountry and have a jack-of-all-trades and master of none? Do you own a trail sled and a mountain sled?

Part of me really wants to try a new Freeride 146 to see if that's the perfect bridge. Let's hear it, or maybe not if no one else feels like I do.

Joe

tuneman

Lifetime Membership
Jan 16, 2013
Minnesota
www.everettsports.net