• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

What kind of helmet are you guys using?

S
Howdie. I'm new to snowmobiling and would like to get all my gear ready before the deep snow falls. That being said, I'm trying to find a good helmet. I don't really want to break the bank, but then again, how much is my head worth? Anyway I've been looking at "best snowmobiling helmets of 2022" lists and have noticed that all the suggested helms have a visor all ready installed, but in all the snowmobiling Youtubes that I've watched everyone has goggles?

So I figured I would check and see what helms you guys are running.

All comments are welcome and appreciated.

ndfb35

Lifetime Membership
Oct 15, 2014
MT
The helmets with built in visors are usually worn by trail riders. They good helmets but a lot of times they don't have the venting like the moto/snocross style helmets have that are better for more active riding. If you are planning on doing more trail riding I would get a helmet with the built in visor but if you are going to be more active get a mountain style helmet. FXR is a solid brand with a variety of price ranges from cheaper to higher end. Tobe is my prefered brand after owning FXR and 509 but all of the higher end helmets are good.

Turbo Thompson

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Feb 16, 2021
On top of the mountain
509 has a very good verity of helmets and very comfortable. Klim f3 is my personal choice but is very pricey. At a certain point money buys lighter weight and does not increase safety. A safe helmet is a well fitting helmet.

Sled Solutions

SnoWest Forums Sponsor
Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Dec 3, 2007
Traverse City, MI
www.sledsolutions.com