• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Upgrade Suspension??

titus_4

Doo It Big
Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Aug 27, 2019
Indiana
This might sound like a dumb question, but I'm asking it anyways. What exactly is the reason to upgrade the suspension on a mountain sled? I understand on a trail sled because of hitting bumps all day long.

I'm not talking about the trail ride in either. Actually riding. Assume too that I'm not doing giant cliff drops like the movies show. Tree riding, playing in meadows, some climbing (but not super long & crazy chutes).

I'm a novice mountain rider but trying to increase my skills. I'm riding a 22 Summit Edge 154 with the HPG shocks. Lots of options for replacement shocks, but I probably see Fox as the most common replacement. Plus, I think they look the best, not like that matters much.

So back to the main question, how much do the shocks really do when you are riding in snow measured in feet? Not inches like a trail sled. Does it make that big of a difference when carving around a meadow? Make it easier to sidehill? I like the idea of the QS3 from Fox where there's less adjustment, but I'm also intrigued by the Floats so you have the QS3 but can also play with air pressure to dial in or change things as needed. When reading the comparison between coils and air, the #1 thing people say is air can leave you stranded in the back county if you blow a seal or a valve. How many people have actually had or seen that happen compared to just reading about the possibility of it on the internet?

Also, FWIW, I'm most likely looking to buy something used. Don't ride enough or feel like I have the necessary skill to justify spending $3500+ on aftermarket shocks.