• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Skid placement

jbusch

Premium Member
Feb 10, 2009
I bought a kmod skinny and it says install in stock position. However, I don't think my sled came with the skid installed in stock position. See pics. Can someone explain to me the difference between the mounting holes for the front and back? And the logic associated with where to install the skinny.
0b7e6b732f9919e8d90fea40ebb7f907.jpg
106e6c11dc4d996ea89f259c0b178e1a.jpg

Sent from my SM-N970U using Tapatalk

Frostbite

Lifetime Membership
Dec 15, 2007
Eastern Washington
You're right, your skid has been dropped to the lower holes. You can see the sled used to be in the stock position by the evidence of where the washers left their marks in the upper holes. Why your skid was dropped remains a mystery. I dropped mine when I put the Elevate kit on my Alpha. I have no experience with the KMod so, I really can't say how that relates.

Lowering the front of the skid takes weight off the skis because it puts more skid into the snow. Lowering the rear to match maintains the stock skid attitude but gives you more skid/track in the snow. It does raise your center of gravity because the sled sits higher in the snow and can become tippy for some.

Some love it, some hate it. Some just lower the front skid bolts, some just lower the rear skid bolts. You really have to drive the sled to see what works best for you and your particular riding style.

Then there's the question of what should you do with your limiter straps if you change your skid mount holes. That's just another rabbit hole to jump into.

madmax

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Salt lake city
Does your sled have an elevate kit on it? I would say if it does, leave it where it is. Call Kevin at kmod, he’ll know better than all is internet jockeys.

jbusch

Premium Member
Feb 10, 2009