• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Looking to buy a Tig Welder

05M7

Jan 2, 2008
So i didnt know where to put this so i threw it here.

Anyways im looking to purchase a tig welder and though there may be some more experienced welders on here that could provide me some insight.

Even though i do tig weld aluminum for a living i am all self taught so basically i dont know what to look for. i just well "make it stick and not leak while looking good" right now at work im using a miller syncrowave 250DX water cooled. i like it but i feel that i still am wanting something a little bit different.

id like the ability to do 1/4" but 3/8 would probably be just fine. and A/C is a must because like i said im a aluminum guy.

Basically what im looking at right now is the miller dynasty 200sd (water or air i dont know)

or the lincoln Precisin tig 225 (here again water or air i dont know)

i will need the finger control and the foot controll.

so someone chime in that knows more than me!

M

mtsummitx

Nov 26, 2007
Billings, MT
The Lincoln Precision Tig 225 is an excellent machine. Very easy to setup and operate, you have individula knobs for all your adjustments, AC balance control, pulse control, etc. Where as on the Miller you have to cycle through the digital menu and adjust these settings one at a time thru the menu. The Lincoln is just more user friendly in my opinon. Yes, it is air cooled. Both will come with foot control, but you could also buy a fingertip control to add for either. The Miller is air cooled as well.

M

mtsummitx

Nov 26, 2007
Billings, MT