• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Home Theater Dimensions

R
Nov 28, 2002
Broomfield, Colorado
I'm finishing my basement and want to put in a "theater" with multi-leveled seating areas, etc. I have 2 options for where to put it - both of which seem a little less than ideal from a size standpoint. They are 11' x 16' or 9-1/2 feet by 22 feet. These are max dimensions and certainly could be cut down as needed.

I don't have any equipment yet but was thinking about something like a 60-inch screen with some stadium type seating and a good audio system. There are only 4 of us so I suspect the set-up will only seat 6 to 8.

My question is - which "space" would be better? 9.5 seems too narrow to me. Any thoughts?

J
Nov 26, 2007
Denver
The 11 x 16 will also sound better. I'm an Architect and live on the north side of Thornton, let me know if you need any ideas. Its a small world, I store my sleds at the Erie airport just west of you.

R
Nov 28, 2002
Broomfield, Colorado
THANKS a ton for the offer. I'm liking that 11x16 space the more I look at it. I have the basement about 1/3 framed -I needed an office and decided the kids needed a play room so I have about 1/3 left to finish with the remaining 1/3 mechanical and storage. Theater either goes north/south or east/west with the remaining storage and a bathroom.

Do you lease storage over there or is it a buddy's place? I'm going to need some extra stroage space in the coming year and that would be nice and close. I'd prefer a garage/workshop type storage deal but that could be tough to find.

R
Nov 28, 2002
Broomfield, Colorado
Thanks for the link MP - I was planning to wire for 7.1 but I definetely not "up" on the sound world.

I have had sound people tell me to forget the expensive Monster Cable and just run coax. You bring up a good question - what kind of wire for the prewire??

M
Oct 15, 2001
Forest Lake, MN