• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Hello from SE Idaho!

M
Jan 13, 2013
Ririe
Hello ladies!
I am not new. Been around a few days. 40+ years to be exact. However I am new to sledding entirely. Not even a machine yet. Rode with my BFF a couple of times and am totally hooked! Once DH gets home from ND we will begin really looking for sleds. We will start out with older stuff and see what the future brings. I can honestly say I have hated winter most of my life since my horse trail riding gets put on hold for what seems like forever. Now, I may have found the answer to beat the winter blues! So excited!
While I contemplate getting a second job to pay for the gear, (so expensive), I wonder if I would be better off waiting for a better time of year. Please tell me if there is a time of year to buy the jacket/bibs?
Also, same question for used sleds. Should we wait until the end of the season? Beginning of next? I know there are some frugal ladies who might help me with these questions?
My main riding will be trails. Dont need a go fast machine but a dependable one. My BFF has a RMK 550 so would like something similar. Any thoughts? How does a 440 touring compare? Anyway, thanks for help.

L

live2ride

Moderator: Premium Member
Nov 11, 2001
Gillette, WY
www.kristyharnish.com
Welcome!!!! We have many ladies on here that can help with these questions. I first off would say we are so excited to have another hooked gal on the forum. As far as gear usually is forsale thoughout the year, so just watch the clothing section. As a sled usually in the summer or fall is when people are trying to sell as they purchased a new one from my experience. Also a 440 touring is usually a 2 seater sled, way different than a 550 trail. A 600 would also work well for you from the sounds of what you are wanting. I hope you find the powder room very resourceful!!!

B

bigislandgrrl