• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Fuel injection required colorado?

B
Feb 28, 2014
I'm thinking of getting an 02 KTM 520sx to use as a dirt bike in the summer and snow bike in the winter. But I have been told you really need a fuel injected bike in the winter to deal with the elevation changes and high alpine in colorado, is that true? I have a lot of experience with sleds and dirt bikes but not snow bikes. I don't need the latest and greatest but something capable, defiantly would be boon docking and not trail riding. Probably 8000-1200 feet.

yooper01

Lifetime Membership
Mar 18, 2014
I'm thinking of getting an 02 KTM 520sx to use as a dirt bike in the summer and snow bike in the winter. But I have been told you really need a fuel injected bike in the winter to deal with the elevation changes and high alpine in colorado, is that true? I have a lot of experience with sleds and dirt bikes but not snow bikes. I don't need the latest and greatest but something capable, defiantly would be boon docking and not trail riding. Probably 8000-1200 feet.
I rode a 520 sx for a season with no issues both in the u.p. of Michigan and Montana.

Deep blower powder and super hero spring snow.

I had cold and warm jetting for high and low elevation. Took a little experimenting but once I had my setup it was great.

That motor makes a great platform for additions down the road...

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

E
Dec 19, 2007