• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Dynamo Joe XP Clutch Kit

800HMX

Premium Member
Dec 3, 2002
Okotoks, AB
I posted this over on Dootalk.

Dynamo Joe XP Clutch Kit

Well I have been waiting to post for some time now, watching the problems, issues and solutions.

I have been testing the DJ QRS Clutch Kit in the mountains for several months now. This is my third DJ kit. The first was the button kit on my 2003 Summit 800 151, then the roller kit on my 2006 800X 159 and now the QRS kit on my 2008 163 X.

I have several hundred km on the QRS Clutch kit, I am on the same belt, and the performance is unreal! The acceleration out of the hole is sick yet smooth, the track speed is incredible, and I get to and hold optimum rpms all day long. I think this is the best clutch kit yet!

Before I talk about specifics, I want to offer BRP some advice. Admit to your mistakes, fix the problems and maybe offer some help to your "valued" customers. One of the main challenges tuning this kit was dealing with BRP's inconsistent and often poor design issues. Some belts are out of specification (either too narrow and/or too long) and some primary clutches are still out of specification (some are still too tight, some are way too loose, and most are covered by an oily sticky solution). Some motors are significantly stronger than others. The secondary clutch, why do we need to remove the jackshaft just to change the helix and who designed the plastic insert to set belt deflection (don't expect this to last long). Great job setting up the clutching - WTF were you thinking. How about offering some way to align the clutches and while you are at it, maybe a torque arm so that the clutches stay aligned. And finally what would possess you to gear these sleds (especially the 146 and 154's) so high. I don't think we need to or could ever go 80+mph in the steep and deep.