• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Do you finance your sled or pay up front?

B
Oct 26, 2003
Not trying to be nosy, just curious if most guys have to finance a new sled or are able to whip out the checkbook and be done with it?

joshkoltes

Lifetime Membership
Dec 16, 2007
ranchester, wy - nashua, mn
Never buy toys on time!
I do buy a lot of parts on time though
I bought my first new sled with moms help at twelve. All my farming money and mowing money. I traded that when I saved up again for a formula 500
Gradually worked my way up the ladder trade by trade. So buying a new sled was never more than five grand.
Wait I take that back, I paid straight up for a 2008 xp 7900 bux . Sold it for 7200 and the 09 was a bit more pricy. But not like starting over pricy

joshkoltes

Lifetime Membership
Dec 16, 2007
ranchester, wy - nashua, mn
If I were to start from scratch now I guess I'd find a good used 2010 ish sled. Then set it up with some aftermarket stuff that might help it retain the same value as I paid for a couple years till I saved up for something newer yet and repeat

Goinboardin

Premium Member
Nov 15, 2009
Laramie, WY
My take on it is if you qualify for a good loan and payments are not difficult for you to come up with it can be a reasonable route to take. For example, the local credit union has recreational vehicle loans at 2.65% for 36months and pays 3.00% on checking accounts up to 15k. That's cheap money if you have good credit. Sure cash is king but if you're responsible about it I don't see any issues with it. Someone on here gave the advice to only finance one thing (other than home) at a time.

AndrettiDog

Lifetime Membership
Dec 23, 2007
Colorado
I think the guys that are paying on loans are going to be less likely to reply.