• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Bike or track - more important?

G
Dec 4, 2016
I’m completely new to snow bikes. Tried one last week and I really enjoy it. Currently on a ski doo 850.

If i were to buy used what is the more important the bike or the track?

when I say “important” I’m primarily referring to handling/performance/where should I allocate more of the budget towards.

to narrow options down. Are there certain years to focus on?

ktm 450?

timbersled? MH vs aro?

I ride in Oregon.

thanks for any help!

Last edited:
N
Nov 26, 2007
Chinook Pass, Wa
I just went thru this. Go injected 450 at a minimum. I got the 137" but ride with a couple guys on the new Aro 3, and it's awesome. Get electric start too, that's a must. Actually one guy in our group is on a 300 2 stroke with the Aro 3 and it's works great too. I went 450 sxf ktm with 137 and it's awesome, goes anywhere.

E
Dec 19, 2007
I would say the track for sure. All the bike has to do is start and make hp. I ride a 20 year old bike and it works as good as anything new. (2 stroke) . it sounds like your a 4 stroke guy so even a 2007 450 with a riot would be WAY better than a 2020 anything with a crappy track kit. Just make sure its a motocross bike so it has 50+ hp instead of 40. and if it's a 4 stroke make sure it's not wore out or it will get expensive quick. 2013 ktms are good deals if you want 4 stroke estart with hp. If you like 2 stroke any 250sx is great back to 2003 or plan on mods if you go 300. All 2 strokes will need thermostat wrap and carb heat.

T
Feb 1, 2010
Entiat, WA
I am surprisingly happy with my 2016 Mountain Horse 137 kit. I ride with a couple 137 AROs and an ARO3, and I don't feel disadvantaged at all. Suspension setup and strut length adjustment go a long way to make the MH kit work well. I might upgrade to the ARO ski at some point, but for now I'm happy.