• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2022 TE300I Snowbike Setup

D
Nov 1, 2021
Washington
I’m new to the snowbike world and looking for some thoughts and advice before going the old trial and error route.

Picked up a new 2022 Te300i and a timbersled riot kit. I have already picked up an engine blanket and exhaust guard (to keep blanket from melting). I’m currently trying to figure what, if anything, do I need to do with the cooling system. There is a factory thermostat on the bike so I’m sure that will help with keeping it warm enough, but never can be too safe. So here are the things I’m curious on.

1. Coolant temp from trail tech. Getting one that is in line will give the most accurate measurements, but with the routing of the lines off the engine it’s impossible to install it. Would it be a big deal to run a 90 off the engine to the sensor and then a 180 back to the thermostat? I would think the coolant would still circulate. Maybe the sensor isn’t even needed.

2. Is the stock thermostat good enough or should I get something else? It’s a 158 in it, should I look for a 165 or 170?

3. Exhaust guard vs silicon soaked header wrap. Either work better?

I read all the threads I could find and still looking for some advice.

P

portgrinder

Nov 26, 2007
Edmonton
So what I have found is adding a tunnel cooler and tarping in your motor gives you the most consistent temps.

Snow contacting the actual engine block does most of the cooling on a snowbike. So at low speeds and high load if you are fully tarped in you will likely overheat.

Not sure how the tpi bikes work. There might be sensors that want to see a certain temp before the bike will work properly.

You’re going to have to play around to get it to work in your conditions.